Mini quiche

April 29, 2008 at 11:52 pm (dinner, links, photos, vegan, veganized) (, , , , , , )

It’s confession time again — in my pre-vegan days I never liked quiche. The sheer egginess of it always appalled me, even before we discovered that I was allergic to the damned eggy things.

But y’know, virtually everyone I know loves quiche, so I thought maybe it was time to give it another whirl. A vegan whirl. SusanV at FatFree Vegan Kitchen gets all the credit for this. Her crustless quiches looked good enough to tempt even me. How can you go wrong with tofu?

I wanted mine to have crusts, though, so I used the last of a large batch of whole wheat Never Fail Pie Crust to line eight mini tart pans and two pot pie pans. These I filled with the quiche mixture. My own was a leek and mushroom version — I used 2/3rds of a leek, finely chopped, in place of bell pepper. The mushrooms were sliced very thin. I used almond butter in place of tahini, thyme in place of rosemary, a bit of extra oil. Realistically these were all fairly minor alterations. The one change that I think made a real difference was using regular firm tofu instead of silken. A couple commenters mentioned that their mini quiche didn’t firm up completely, so I figured a firmer tofu might be the answer.

Vegan mini quiche

The results? Everybody who ate them liked them. Even my omnivore roommate declared them ‘quiche-y.’ The larger quiches (in the pot pie pans) proved to have a better, moister consistency when reheated. The little ones were a nice size for lunches. While tasty to start with, they were all noticeably tastier a couple days later. Mmmmmm. My only problem with them was that the leek greens ‘bled’ a little of their colour, so that the quiches weren’t the soft, buttery yellow I would have liked. Next time I’ll know to use only the whites, or maybe try shallots instead.

1 Comment

  1. Arnon said,

    They even had that squidgy-feeling thing going on that made it hard for me to get int quiche when I was younger.

    Complete success madam!

Leave a comment